Sensitive Vs. Wimp

So recently, I have been taking an ‘outside’ look into my friends relationships.  I think it’s kind of interesting when you take something you already think you know and then look at it from a completely different perspective.

Today, I was asked to critique how I thought my friend and her boyfriend are, as a couple.  That’s what got me thinking.  Her boyfriend, to me, seems a little on the girly side.  A wimp.  Very feminine.  However, to her, he is just the “sensitive” type. Hmm.  Interesting.

She likes a guy who isn’t afraid to cry.  Isn’t afraid to watch a love story, romantic movie.  Will sit there and listen to her when she has problems.  Yada yada yada.  The whole girly she-bang.  That’s great that she found someone who can be like that.  Someone who is ‘in touch’ with their emotions so much, that they can be that sensitive.

But is that OVERLY sensitive?

I think a guy who isn’t afraid to get dirty fixing cars, yet will sit with me and watch a romantic COMEDY is good.  Someone who listen to my problems but not let himself get so wrapped up in babying me when I am having a bad day.  I want someone to tell me like it is, not pussyfoot around the damn tree because he’s afraid of hurting my feelings.  I may be a woman, but I am not a child.  I don’t need to be treated like I’m fragile.

Yes, I know every person is different and you can’t really judge one person for who they like.  That’s just their type.  It’s cool.  No two people are alike.

So, without risk of judgement, I am asking others opinions.  What do you think?

When looking for a potential mate, do you look for a guy that is sensitive and not afraid of putting his emotions out there, or do you prefer the manly man, who would rather work on cars and blow stuff up?

Feedback is always appreciated!

One thought on “Sensitive Vs. Wimp

Give Us Some Feedback! :)

