This Year, I’m Pretty Damn Thankful

Every Thanksgiving, when dinner time rolls around, my family and I all take our seats together at the dinner table.  We take a good hard look at each other and take the time to reflect on everything that has happened within the past year.

This year, it’s a little different.  This is the first Thanksgiving, where my family is going to be split up.  Some of my siblings are going to be at my stepmother’s house, my father is going to be away in Georgia with my grandparents spending Thanksgiving with the Troops, my brother is going to be in another part of Georgia, and the rest of us are going to be here in Jersey.

I took a bit of time to really analyze how much has changed in the past year with myself and I wanted to make a note of things I am truly thankful for.

1.)     I am thankful I have my family.  It’s a unique family.  It’s just a little crazy, off-balance, spontaneous, reckless, dysfunctional, troublesome, nuts, and seriously insane… but it’s my family.  I love my sisters and brothers.

2.)    I’m thankful for my father.  I have seen too many scenarios where the father-figure has skipped out on mothers and on babies, but my dad raised me.  He genuinely took the time and participated in my life and for that, I can’t thank him enough.  He may be overbearing at times, but I know he only does it because he cares and wants me to be the absolute best that I can be.  I love you Dad.

3.)    I’m thankful for my puppy.  A dog is the only relative you can choose to have.  Harley came to me, on a whim.  When she first came to live with us, she was adopted in as a family pet.  Somehow over the past few months and even year, she has truly become my daughter.  I love waking up and seeing her sitting so perky, tail wagging on the floor, so excited to see that I am awake.  She brightens up my life in so many ways.

4.)    I’m thankful for my job.  Right now, there are so many Americans out of work.  As much as I hate my job, and wish everyday that either I will get promoted, transferred, or fired I have to say that at least I have a reliable source of income.

5.)     I’m thankful for my friends, especially the ones I made over the past 6 months in Med School.  They have been my crutch through some tough issues I have been going through.  They have supported me through tests, exams, finals, and those long, hard assignments.  The three A.M. phone calls, the midnight texts, the 7 A.M. wake-up calls, and the “goodnight” texts.  Every step of the way, we have relied on each other and I am truly thankful for them.  You guys are the best!

6.)  I’m thankful that I am starting to feel again.  For a while, I was a numb mess.  I couldn’t feel pain, love, or sadness… all that was there was a tingling sensation.  A constant numbness.  I’m glad I can feel the onset of emotions.   I’m glad I can cry, laugh, smile, giggle, scowl, and even cringe.  I’m just thankful I can feel those emotions again.  Something I didn’t even know if I was ever going to be able to do again.

7.)  I’m thankful for our military men and women.  I know it’s so cliché to say that, but I’m one of those people who sincerely means that.  I have a grandfather that fought in the United States Military for over 26 and 1/2 years.  I have uncles, cousins, and cousin-in-laws in the Air Force.  I have friends in the Marines and in the Army.  I am thankful everyday that they have been served our country and have lived to see another day.  A day they helped protect.

8.)  I am thankful for my motivation.  I know it’s so hard to stop going to school and then try kick starting yourself up by enrolling again.  I just didn’t want to be another statistic.  I am grateful to have learned a lot of the real world by taking the time off of school but I was smart enough to realize that if I didn’t go back now, the chances of me going back were limited.  I am so glad I decided to go back.

There are so many things I can, should, and AM grateful I have in my life.  A good solid roof over my head, electricity, heat, the warmth of Harley as she sleeps by my feet, the humming of my laptop, music, dancing, love.  I wish I could list them all, but it would take me a day and a half to truly say how much I am thankful for.  For my sister being so understanding, for the green grass under my toes, the beach and its wonderful waves in all it’s glory.  For the food my dad provides for my family and I, my car that gets me around, for the clothes that I wear.  I wish I could sincerely spell it all out, but since it’s the Holiday season… I would much rather spend it with my family.

I would also like to thank all of my followers, my fellow bloggers, and everyone who has inspired me to keep writing and maintain blogging.  Without you guys, my pages would remain empty.  I thank you all.

Have a very Happy Thanksgiving everyone.  I hope it’s as interesting and heartfelt as I know mine will be.  Also to all those Black Friday shoppers, be careful!  I know I will be amongst you, so get ready for them sales and have fun!  Happy Holiday everyone.  I’ll see you all soon.  ❤  🙂  ❤

2 thoughts on “This Year, I’m Pretty Damn Thankful

Give Us Some Feedback! :)

