Results Are In: There’s More than Meets the Eye

I have never been a fan of bullying.  I have never thought there was anything funny about that kind of situation.  We have heard about kids in high school killing themselves over being bullied.  Wives have killed their husbands because they were bullied.  It’s just not a good subject to bring up.  However, it is not something that should be taken lightly or over-looked.

Let Me See Your Skills

Two days ago, my sister, Sam, had her powder-puff game.  For those of you who don’t know what powder puff is, it’s the equivalent of girl’s football.  Supposedly, it’s less aggressive but the way girls play, I think it’s more.  Ha.  Anyways, the game started a 7 pm and once I dropped my sister off and wished her good luck, I quickly climbed the bleachers and took my seat to watch the game.

About 15 minutes into the game, I hear some loud chatter under the bleachers and (not to be nosey) I peeked through the steps and noticed two things that caught me off guard instantly. 

  1. There was a group of guys pushing and shoving into each other. 
  2. There was a blind boy with a girl standing next to him.

I climbed down off the bleachers and I went to go break up the pushing and shoving.  When I got to the bottom of the bleachers and rounded the corner.  As soon as I turned the corner, I heard the following conversation…

* Boy #1 slams into the blind boy. *
Girl: 
“Hey!  Watch out! He can’t see you, asshole.”
Blind Boy:  “It’s okay, I am used to being around and dealing with ‘man-fights’.”
Boy #2:  “Oh yeah?  You have skills?  Well let’s see ’em.”

The next thing I knew, I took three steps forward and then my body literally froze with amazement.  First, I couldn’t believe that any perfectly able kid would seriously challenge an impaired kid.  How stinking ignorant is that?  I knew I should have prevented any confrontation that was about to happen but I was dumbfounded.  I mean, I never thought today’s youth could be such little jerks.  I took two more steps forward.

The blind boy pushed the girl lightly out-of-the-way and then threw down his walking stick.  Boy #2 geared up for the fight by cracking his knuckles and neck.  I wanted to stop the fight that was about to begin.  I knew it was the right thing to do.  No one should be bullied.  That’s when the blind boy literally socked the Boy #2 in his face.  He threw a left and then a quick hard right punch.  Boy #2 fell to the ground and then bounced back up fast.  He went to hit the blind kid but he was faster.  They ended up headlocking each other, punching and pulling each other down to the ground. 

Before I could move, Boy #1 ran over and pulled the blind boy off of the other kid.  He told them to “Knock it off” and with that the fight had ended.  The blind kid stood up and brushed himself off.  He then picked up his walking stick and with a loud SNAP he cracked Boy #2 in the ankle with it.  I walked over quickly to the kids and asked them what was going on.  The two boys ran, leaving the Blind Boy and the girl standing under the bleachers. 

The Aftermath

I asked if he was okay and offered to take him to go find a nurse or something.  He assured me that he was alright and that he didn’t need help from the nurse.  I looked at the girl, who was now standing there with her eyes wide with some kind of emotion.  I couldn’t really read if it was fear, anxiety, or if she was just as stunned as I was.  I asked her if she was okay and with one simple nod, I turned to head back to my seat.

When I got back to my seat, the only thing I could do, was smile.  I know it wasn’t the right reaction to have.  I could have been a lot of things.  I could have been upset that the kids thought that they had to resort to violence.  I could have been worried that the boy was hurt more than he let on.  Instead, I smiled.  I was actually genuinely glad that the blind boy stood up for himself.  I was glad that he risked getting his ass whooped in order to save his pride.  I was glad most of all that he didn’t take crap from an openly admitted bully.

I don’t agree with bullying or violence.  I think there is no real winner in a fight and anyone who tries to convince me otherwise, has a lot to do.  However, I can’t help but cheer for the underdog.  Especially when the underdog is someone with some kind of disability.  Not that it’s a cop-out.  I always applaud people for standing up for themselves.  No one deserves to be bullied.  No one deserves to be treated in a bad manner.  So yes, I know smiling was wrong, but when you witness someone standing up for themself, when no one else would, you can’t be happy. 

Give Us Some Feedback! :)

