When it’s cold outside, show the world the warmth of your smile. :)

Tomorrow. 

This is it.  Tomorrow will be my very last day of Medical School.  I’m going to take a final and with the sketching of an answer or two on paper, my medical school era will come to an end. It’s so surreal.  It just doesn’t feel like all that time has passed.  It literally feels like yesterday I was walking in to class for the first time.  It’s going to be an emotional day, I can already feel it.  As I sit here, watching the clock tick down right before I head out for class today, I can’t help but get a little misty-eyed already.

What’s funny is, in high school, when you graduate they never tell you how it really is.  I remember a high school teacher telling us, “enjoy the next few years, they are going to be the best time of your life” and another one tell us, “Welcome to the real world.”  When I heard them say those things, I thought they were being funny.  Mocking us, if you will.  I never imagined they would be right.  This year marks 5 years since I graduated high school.  5 years since I walked down my track and threw my commencement cap in the air and received that diploma.  I never dreamed that 5 years later, I would be doing it all over again.

This time though, I get a pretty diploma to mount on my wall.  One that doesn’t have “high school graduate” written all over it.  It’s been one crazy run.  Ups and downs and everything in between.  I have met some of the best people I have ever come across.  People who have been there and never even dreamed of walking away.  To them I say, “Good Luck.”  I would say the novelty thing that everyone says at the end of school years.  “Keep in touch!” “We have to hang out over the summer.” “BFFs! Love you!” but it would be pointless.  We’re old enough to understand that our main contact will have to be through texts and emails for a while.  Let’s be realistic.  We’re going to be freshly graduated medical students.  Our time is going to be limited, stretched between work, internships, and what little sleep we’ll be able to mash into our schedules. I wish there was a way to stretch out this week.  Let the days last a little longer.  Freeze time for a bit.

It’s bittersweet.  Ending one chapter with my friends here at med school to begin another interning at an Orthopedic Doctor’s office.  (Which might I add, I am extremely excited/nervous about.)  We worked so hard to get where we are.  Studying hours and hours on end, watching videos online about the heart, pop quizzing each other 3 minutes before the tests, and cramming one more sentence on our notes.  It’s been an amazing journey and I am so blessed to have met the people I have.  I wish you all nothing but the best and I just know we’ll keep in touch.

To my classmates, let’s go out and rock our internships!  I know we will.  I’ll see you all at graduation in May.  ❤


(The was the song they played at my High School graduation.)

One thought on “When it’s cold outside, show the world the warmth of your smile. :)

Give Us Some Feedback! :)

