Results Are In: Being a Cynic, Isn’t So Bad After All

I’m a hopeless romantic.

Or at least, I thought I was one. I thought, I was one of those people who loved everything there is about love.  I thought I was one of those people who believe they have one true loving soul mate out there, just waiting for them to find them.  That one day, I would just walk into a crowded room and see my better half standing there with a spotlight on them.

I Grew Up Though…

I have come to realize that at the bitter age of 22, I have become a terrible cynic.  I am not talking like Scrooge Cynic, or anything like that.  Allow me to explain.  It’s actually not so bad, and I will tell you why.

  1. You don’t get hurt as easily.    You don’t have to worry about being walked on, because you already know the score and how things work out anyway.
  2. I don’t have to worry about wearing my heart out on my sleeve.  It’s pretty hard to do so when you don’t even have a heart to begin with.  My friends are convinced there is three inches of ice covering that baby, and I have to say, I might agree.
  3. When it comes to working (especially in the Medical Field like myself), it’s easier for you to accept reality.  Things are really messed up in this world.  People don’t heal when you try to cure them, there is no medicines for a lot of things that is wrong with people, and to be quite honest, when professionals mess up, they take it hard.  If you are a cynic, you will realize sooner than later that the world is an imperfect place and you are going to make mistakes.  It makes it easier to get on and move on to the next day without a terrible case of depression.
  4. It’s easier to mask emotions.  Cynics hurt like everyone else.  The only difference is, we can cover it up easier.  We can pretend that we are okay and that we are just like everyone else.  Plastering on a fake smile to get us through the day.

Those are just some of the basic reasons being a cynic isn’t so bad.  Sure, I know personally, I get called a bitch or heartless but it’s not that bad.  I’m not the type of cynic that goes around telling everyone how much of a shitty person they are.  I’m just the type that realized after many failed relationships, much wasted time, and downheartedness… it’s time to grow up, put the big girl pants on, and be an adult.  Life is full of disappointments so you might as well prepare yourself.  Haha.

3 thoughts on “Results Are In: Being a Cynic, Isn’t So Bad After All

Give Us Some Feedback! :)

