With All the Recent Engagements

So, I have been thinking about this for a few months now, since December of 2011 to be more exact, and I think now is the proper time to address the situation.

To all my friends, family members (one of my sister’s included in this), and my co-workers:  The world is NOT going to end in 2012.  Stop getting engaged!  I don’t know what it is, maybe it’s something in the air or water, but I have been invited to nine…yes. NINE weddings… since December.  That means, between December of 2011, January, February, March, and April of 2012 I have received NINE sets of wedding invitations, meal option cards, RSVP letters, and Save the Date magnets.  One Christmas Day of 2011, seven of my friends got engaged.  Nuts.

Now, I love you all, and I am incredibly happy and overwhelmed with so much joy that you would even think to include me in your special day, but relax a little.  I am already booked for an entire weekend in August of this year.  I have TWO weddings I am attending in one weekend.  I am just busy busy busy.  Now, don’t take this the wrong way, because I am super excited for you all, but remember the world will go on after 2012.  So there’s no need to rush.  Take all the time you need to prepare.  I know we’re getting older now.  Most of my friends are between the age of 23 and 29, so we’re entering that stage of our lives.

I’m just worried truthfully.  Not that I don’t think that anyone can pull off the best wedding and have a beautiful successful marriage… it’s more that I feel people are rushing into getting married because they feel like it’s only the right thing to do.  Like it’s the next step.  Piss or get off the pot kind of thing.  But it’s not.

All I’m saying is, I hope before you get engaged, you are really looking at the situation level-headed.  Look at it from as many angles as you possibly can.  Sometimes, it’s better to wait and be sure, than rush and find out the hard way. I mean absolutely no disrespect either, trust me, I am very happy for you guys.  I’m just being my usual protective self, that’s all.  Haha.

Again, Congrats to so many of my friends and family!  I love you guys.  I sincerely wish you all nothing but the absolute best.  ❤

One thought on “With All the Recent Engagements

Give Us Some Feedback! :)

